Resource Center

Simply click on the resource that
you wish to learn more about.

Deluxe Check Reorder

bright ideas

First Home? New Home? Dream Home?

Whatever stage you're at in life, we have money to lend to make your dreams come true.

Board of Directors

American Bank of Rock Island was chartered under the state banking laws of Illinois in 1968. On July 2, 1998, American Bank and Trust, Company, N.A., a subsidiary of AmBank Holdings, Inc., incorporated as a National Bank under Iowa law. American Bank and Trust Company, N.A.’s corporate office is located at 4301 East 53rd Street, Davenport, Iowa 52807-3861.


Management of the Company and the Bank is led by a board of directors. As with any financial institution, the ultimate responsibility for enforcing bank policies and maintaining the financial health of the organization rests with the board of directors. Thomas L. Criswell (president and chief executive officer, American Bank and Trust Company, N.A.) serves as a director of the Company and the Bank. In addition, Rakesh Alla (chairman of the Bank), Stanley H. Coin (a founding director), James V. Russell (vice chairman of the Company), Steven R. Schroder, Matthew Stern, John Timmer (chairman of the Company and vice chairman of the Bank) and Vernon Wegerer, serve as non-employee directors of the Company and the Bank. The board members’ experience is well-rounded, with an emphasis in business management and development, and each of the directors understands community banking. The Company expects its directors to serve as a referral source of additional bank customers and business.


Board of Directors – AmBank Holdings, Inc.

Rakesh Alla Chief Operating Officer Quad Cities Kidney Center, Ltd.
Stanley H. Coin Retired Chairman/President/CEO American Bank and Trust Company
Thomas L. Criswell President/CEO American Bank and Trust Company
James V. Russell Owner Russell Construction Company, Inc.
Steven R. Schroder President E.H. Schroder Insurance Agency, Inc.
Matthew Stern President/CFO Stern Beverage, Inc.
John Timmer President Timmer And  Associates, CPA, PC
Vernon Wegerer Founding member KJWW Engineering Consultants


Background of the Directors


Rakesh Alla serves as chairman of the Bank and a director of the Company.  Since 2004, Mr. Alla has served as Chief Operating Officer for the Quad Cities Kidney Center, Ltd., a ten facility regional healthcare provider in western Illinois and eastern Iowa, which provides dialysis services to patients with kidney disease and kidney failure.  Mr. Alla earned a Bachelor of Arts in Economics and Finance from Washington University in St. Louis, Missouri, and a Masters of Business Administration degree in Corporate Strategy and Marketing from the University of Michigan Business School in Ann Arbor, Michigan.  He actively serves the Quad City community on the Boards of Directors for the Child Abuse Council and Big Brothers Big Sisters of the Mississippi Valley.
Stanley H. Coin is a charter director of the Company and the Bank. Mr. Coin was an original founder of the Bank and served as chairman, president and chief executive officer from 1968 to 2002. Mr. Coin previously served as president, midwestern division of Eagle Food Centers, Lucky Stores Inc., from 1978 to 1983. He is an active member in many community organizations, including the Rock Island Rotary Club, Trinity Health Foundation College of Nursing, the Rock Island/Milan School District and the St. George Greek Orthodox Church.


Thomas L. Criswell serves as President and Chief Executive Officer of the Bank. In addition, he also serves as Board Member at both the Bank and Holding Company levels. Mr. Criswell brings over thirty-four years of experience in the financial services industry to American Bank and Trust, most recently as President of a similarly-sized Midwestern bank. Mr. Criswell received his B.A. in Finance at the University of Illinois. His involvement in community includes serving as Executive Ambassador and Professional Advisory Council for OSF St. Joseph's Hospital.

James V. Russell serves as vice chairman of the Company and has served as a director of the Bank since 2003. Mr. Russell founded Russell Construction Company in 1983 following his graduation from Iowa State University with a construction engineering degree. Russell Construction Company provides commercial construction services in Davenport, Iowa.  To date, Russell Construction has completed over $1 billion in projects in 21 states and was recently recognized by Engineering News as one of the largest 400 contractors in the nation. Mr. Russell is active in the Quad Cities community serving on numerous community boards both currently and in the past.
Steven R. Schroder has served as a director of the Company and the Bank since 1995. Mr. Schroder attended Black Hawk Jr. College and serves as president of E.H. Schroder Insurance Agency, Inc., located in Rock Island, Illinois. Mr. Schroder is also a member and past president of the Kiwanis Club of Rock Island, has served as past president of the Independent Insurance Agents of Rock Island County and is an active member of Session at South Park Presbyterian Church in Rock Island.
Matthew Stern is President and Chief Financial Officer of Stern Beverage, Inc. in Milan.  He is one of eighteen business leaders nationwide to be appointed to serve on the ABInbev Wholesaler, Senior Management Panel.  He is also involved with other members of the Stern family in the Stern Center in downtown Rock Island.  Mr. Stern graduated from Rock Island High School, earned High Honors at the University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign, where he received a Bachelor of Arts in Finance, and attained a Master of Business Administration with a Masters in Finance from the University of Pennsylvania Wharton School.  He is a member of the Development Association of Rock Island (DARI), serves on the Board of the Ride with Kelly Foundation, and previously served on Boards for Quad City Arts, the Black Hawk College Foundation and Bethany for Children and Families.
John Timmer serves as chairman of the Company and vice chairman of the Bank.  Mr Timmer is a Certified Public Accountant and Certified Financial Planner, and is President of Timmer And Associates, CPA, PC, a full service accounting and consulting firm with offices in Rock Island and Davenport.  Mr. Timmer is also a graduate of Rock Island High School, and has attained a Bachelor of Science in Finance from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign.  He serves as treasurer and on the Board of Trustees for Friendship Manor in Rock Island, as a director to Tudi’s Tribe, and is president for Oakwood Country Club.
Vernon Wegerer is a 1961 founding member of KJWW Engineering Consultants.  The firm specializes in consulting engineering services for building and infrastructure systems, and has ten domestic and overseas offices employing over three hundred associates.  While retired, Mr. Wegerer continues to be involved in project management of construction projects with the Catholic Diocese of Peoria and the Peoria Notre Dame High School campus, and was project manager for the Jordan Catholic School addition in Rock Island.  Mr. Wegerer served four years in the United States Air Force, attained a Bachelor of Science in Electrical Engineering from Kansas State University, and maintains Professional Engineering licenses in multiple states.  He serves on the Alumni Board of Kansas State University; the Diocese of Peoria Finance and Building Committees; the Advisory Board for Western Illinois University’s School of Engineering offering academic programs at the Quad Cities campus; and the Finance Committee of St. Pius X Parish in Rock Island.  Mr. Wegerer has previously served on the Trinity Medical Center’s Board of Directors.